



Hon Michael Wright

Minister for Police Minister for Emergency Services Minister for Recreation, Sport & Racing

Monday, 24 November 2008 Winners names to be embargoed until 2.00 pm

ACTS OF BRAVERY AND OUTSTANDING SERVICE HONOURED

An extraordinary group of South Australians who've performed above and beyond the call of duty in making our communities safer will be honoured at a special ceremony this afternoon.

Emergency Services Minister, Michael Wright, will today acknowledge the courage, passion, and dedication of 14 South Australians who will be presented with an Emergency Service Medal and 18 others who'll receive Ministerial Commendations, at the Stamford Plaza Hotel from 2.00 pm.

This year's recipients come from the Country Fire Service, Metropolitan Fire Service, State Emergency Service, Volunteer Marine Rescue, Surf Life Saving SA and the SA Ambulance Service. They are being recognised for their extraordinary efforts at incidents such as the 2008 Willunga fire, the ETSA Utilities sub-station fire, the Whyalla Airlines crash, a daring cliff rescue at Hallett Cove in 2007, and the rescue of a swimmer by a 16-year-old surf life saver at Grange.

Paying tribute to the recipients, Minister Wright said the awards reflect the exceptional acts of bravery and outstanding service volunteers and paid staff make to the emergency services sector and community safety.

"While each and every member of the emergency services organisations deserves recognition for their contribution, these medals and commendations recognise those who have gone that extra mile in service to the community.

"Whether it involves rescuing someone from a bushfire, a cliff face or treacherous seas, or coming up with new and improved ways to better service and protect the community, these 32 individuals and groups have helped to build community resilience and make South Australia a safer place," Minister Wright said.

The awards, which are administered by the South Australian Emergency Services Commission, have been running for eight years.

Recipients of the 2008 Emergency Services Medals, which are awarded for distinguished and/or meritorious service of the highest order, are:

- Dean H Clarke (Lockleys)- Patients Services Manager, SA Ambulance Service
- Wayne Maxwell Atkins (Athelstone)- Commander, Country Fire Service
- Ian Robert Taverner (Hackham)- Deputy Group Officer, Country Fire Service
- Richard Giles Mould Jnr (Port Augusta)- Captain, Country Fire Service

- Michael Colin Scott (Pt Augusta) Firefighter, SA Metropolitan Fire Service
- Ramon Phillip Kruger (Pt Augusta)- Senior Firefighter, SA Metropolitan Fire Service
- Dean Annandale James (Torrensville)- Communication Officer, SA Metropolitan Fire Service
- Alexandra Prodanovski (Daw Park) Executive Assistant to Chief Officer, SA Metropolitan Fire Service
- Jennifer Maree Vincent (O'Halloran Hill)- State Training Officer & Volunteer Team Leader SES Noarlunga Unit
- Christopher Alagich (formerly of Morphettville, now living in Queensland)- Patrol Member, Surf Life Saving SA
- Simon James (West Lakes Shore) Patrol Member, Surf Life Saving SA
- Peter Marshman (South Brighton) Aerial Services Officer, Surf Life Saving SA
- Albert James Puxley (Victor Harbor) Volunteer Marine Rescue
- Don McCulloch (Hawthorndene) Volunteer Marine Rescue

Ministerial Commendations have been awarded to:

- Christopher Cotton (c/- Woodside)- Intensive Care Paramedic, SA Ambulance Service
- Janice McEvoy (Warooka) Volunteer Team Leader, SA Ambulance Service
- Mark Steven Hewitson (Ceduna) Group Officer, Country Fire Service
- Quentin Mark Russ (Tumby Bay)- Group Officer, Country Fire Service
- Andrew Lawson (Littlehampton) Deputy Chief Officer, Country Fire Service
- Lee Watson (c/- Brukunga) State Training Officer, Country Fire Service
- Shaun Jeffrey Ruxton (Sheidow Park) District Officer (Fire Cause Investigation), SA Metropolitan Fire Service
- John Cameron McNaughton (Renmark) Station Officer, SA Metropolitan Fire Service
- Trevor Pearce (South Plympton)- Manager Financial Services, SA Fire and Emergency Services Commission
- Peter John James Nygaard (Clarence Gardens) OHS&W Officer, SA Fire and Emergency Services Commission
- Shane Leedham (Salisbury Downs) Deputy Unit Manager, State Emergency Service
- John Edge (Normanville) Training Officer/Business Manager, State Emergency Service
- Lynette Jean Little (Salisbury Downs) Rescue Officer, State Emergency Service
- Alex Carr (formerly of Hallett Cove, now living in Norwood)- Patrol Member, Surf Life Saving SA
- Glenelg Life Saving Club
- Elaine Farmer (Ethelton)- General Manager, Surf Life Saving SA
- Dean Andrew (Pt Lincoln) Volunteer Marine Rescue
- Anthony Johnstone (Whyalla Norrie) Squadron Leader, Volunteer Marine Rescue

For further information on the winners and their achievements visit www.safecom.sa.gov.au. To get in contact with specific recipients, please phone Emma Cox (Minister's office) on 0438 777 454 or the fire and emergency services media line on 8204 3770.