

www.premier.sa.gov.au



Hon Michael Wright

Minister for Police Minister for Emergency Services Minister for Recreation, Sport & Racing

Wednesday, 25 November 2009

TWENTY THREE SOUTH AUSTRALIANS TO RECEIVE HONOURS TODAY

Twenty-three South Australians, who have gone above and beyond the call of duty, often risking their own lives to help others, will be honoured at a special ceremony today.

Emergency Services Minister, Michael Wright, will commend and help celebrate the courage and dedication of 12 people receiving an Emergency Services Medal and another 11 who'll receive Ministerial Commendations in the Adelaide Festival Centre's Banquet Room from 2pm today.

This year's recipients are from the SA Ambulance Service (SAAS), Country Fire Service (CFS), Metropolitan Fire Service (MFS), State Emergency Service (SES), Surf Life Saving SA (SLSSA), SA Sea Rescue Squadron (SASRS), Australian Volunteer Coast Guard Association (AVCGA) and the SA Fire and Emergency Services Commission (SAFECOM).

"These extraordinary individuals are being recognised for their efforts during incidents such as the January 2009 Proper Bay bushfire (Greg Napier), the rescue of three people in a dinghy in treacherous seas off Rapid Bay (Paul Brown and Stephen Marshall) and the heroic rescue of a person in a dangerous house fire (Paul Christopher Harrington).

Minister Wright said the extraordinary efforts of the 23 recipients served as a reminder of the efforts made by many people – both volunteers and paid staff – to ensure the safety of every South Australian.

"I would like to congratulate each and every one of them and thank them for their stellar efforts and contribution to our community," Minister Wright said.

The recipients of this year's Emergency Services Medal, which are awarded for distinguished and/or meritorious service of the highest order, are:

- Tricia (Trish) Vogel (Berri) Manager Patient Services (SAAS)
- Stephen Charles Bigg (Findon) Telecommunications Manager SAAS
- Leon Cutting (Clare) Regional Team Leader (Clare) SAAS
- Peter Grant Edgecumbe (Millicent) Retired Deputy Group Officer (CFS)
- Greg Napier (Port Lincoln) Captain, CFS Port Lincoln Brigade (CFS)
- Paul Christopher Harrington (Adelaide) Station Officer (MFS)
- Trevor Arnold (Hallett Cove) Commander, Special Operations Training and Safety (SES)
- John Nearmy (Seaford) Surf Lifesaver (SLSSA)
- Gerry de Jong (Craigburn) Operations Captain (SASRS)
- Paul Brown (Normanville) Flotilla Leader (Wirrina Flotilla) (SASRS)
- Stephen Marshall (Normanville) Crew Member (Wirrina Flotilla) (SASRS)

• Ian Short (Burnside) – Squadron Board Adviser (AVCGA)

Ministerial Commendations have been awarded to:

- Corey Robert Dunn (St Agnes) State Training Officer (CFS)
- Ian Nichols Davey (Kimba) Captain Kimba Brigade (CFS)
- Paul Keith Hutt (Wudinna) Deputy Group Officer (CFS)
- Michael John Morgan (Adelaide) District Officer, Human Resources (MFS)
- Philip Lindley Barnett (Mt Barker) Station Officer (MFS)
- Anna Migliaccio (Newton) Administrative Services Officer (MFS)
- David Littler (Morphett Vale) Financial Consultant (SAFECOM)
- Craig William Brassington (Wynn Vale) Business Support Officer (SES)
- Peter Larvin (Allenby Gardens) Unit Manager (Western Adelaide) (SES)
- James (Jim) Dale (Salisbury North) Surf Life Saver (SLSSA)
- Phillip Buck (Kingscote) Flotilla Commander (AVCGA)

For further information on the winners and their achievements visit www.safecom.sa.gov.au. To get in contact with individual recipients, please phone Emma Schwartz on 0438 777 454 or the fire and emergency services media line on 8204 3770.