## Songer, Rachael (DCS)

From:

Stevenson, Robert (SES)

Sent:

Friday, 19 September 2014 2:46 PM

To:

DCS:Minister Piccolo

Subject:

**Emergency Services Sector Review - boundaries** 

**Categories:** 

Rachel

## Good afternoon Minister

I wish to add my support for the proposed realignment of boundaries to be consistent with the uniform State Administrative boundaries under the Emergency Services Sector review.

I have been heavily involved with the setting up of the Zone Emergency Management Committees over the past five years and we have made a point of sticking to the State Administrative boundaries for these committees.

There has been one significant change to these boundaries for emergency management purposes following epresentations from both SAPOL and the CFS. This was to combine the Adelaide Hills Zone (or Region) with the Fleurieu and Kangaroo Island Zone (or Region) to form the Adelaide Hills, Fleurieu and Kangaroo Island Zone. Rather than just adopt this change immediately, we embarked on an extensive consultation process whereby we convened meetings within both regions (at Mt Barker, Victor Harbor and Kingscote) to canvas local opinions on this matter. The overwhelming outcome was for this amalgamation to proceed. It made sense when it was understood that the headquarters for these regions for both SAPOL and CFS was Mt Barker. My initial thought was that Kangaroo Island would be opposed to this change, but in speaking with K. I. residents including Mayor Jayne Bates, it emerged that they were very much in favour of this change.

This change was subsequently proposed at the State Response Advisory Group and approved by the State Emergency Management Committee.

The result is that the twelve SA regions under the Uniform State Administrative boundaries, for emergency management purposes, have become eleven emergency management zones, with eleven Zone Emergency Management Committees. This arrangement has worked very well as it recognises not only the emergency management requirements, but also, importantly, the Local Government boundaries. Significantly, the only one of the 68 Councils that is split into two Zone Emergency Management Zones is Port Adelaide Enfield (Port Adelaide is in he Western Adelaide Zone and Enfield is in the Northern Adelaide Zone). This arrangement has been of enormous value in the process of setting up the Zone Emergency Management Committees, relying as they do on the grass roots support of Local Councils and the communities they represent.

SAPOL have already made great steps towards adopting the Uniform State Administrative boundaries and they are not far away from a complete adoption. CFS and SES on the other hand, are not so compliant. For MFS, I don't think it has been so much of an issue, but I am less familiar with their circumstances, given their limited involvement in country SA.

CFS currently appear to have three sets of boundaries – their CFS Regional boundaries (Region 1, 2, 3 etc), their Bushfire Management Committee boundaries and their Bushfire warning regions (in line with the Bureau of Meteorology SA regions). This is obviously very confusing and inefficient and whilst there will be some short term pain, I think the move to the Uniform State Administrative boundaries would definitely assist with the development of the new emergency services sector arrangements. To a lesser extent, the same applies to SES boundaries.

With the currently suggested model of the single point of leadership and the integration of non-operational services, it would appear obvious that one common set of boundaries for the emergency services, including the frontline services, would be essential. This set of boundaries needs to mirror what the ZEMCs and SAPOL(with some differences) already have in place - the Uniform State Administrative boundaries for emergency management.

I hope these comments and suggestions are of value to the review.

Kindest regards

Bob

## **Bob Stevenson**

State Emergency Management Planning Officer | SOUTH AUSTRALIAN STATE EMERGENCY SERVICE GPO Box 2706 | Adelaide SA 5001

Level 8, 60 Waymouth Street | Adelaide SA 5000

Phone: 08 8463 6707 | Fax: 08 8410 3115 | Mobile: 0400 641 242 | Email: stevenson.bob@ses.sa.gov.au



A reliable and trusted volunteer based organisation building safe and resilient communities.

To volunteer call: 1300 364 587

For emergency help in floods and storms call 132 500. For life-threatening emergencies call 000 (triple zero).

The information in this e-mail may be confidential and/or legally privileged. It is intended solely for the addressee. Access to this e-mail by anyone else is unauthorised. If you are not the intended recipient, any disclosure, copying, distribution or any action taken or omitted to be taken in reliance on it is prohibited and may be unlawful.

Please consider the environment before printing this e-mail