From the Board

  Comment Banner Dec 2009

SAFECOM Board and Advisory Board changes

Advisory Board Handover

The passage of the amended Fire and Emergency Services Act 2005 through the Parliament of South Australia has seen the winding up of the Advisory Board.

The last official meeting was held on 9 October 2009. With the Act being proclaimed on 1 November 2009 the Advisory Board was aware that the end of their terms would cease.

In the continued fashion of the Advisory Board which has strived to achieve sector-wide improvements, a handover was arranged on 13 November 2009 with SAFECOM Chief Executive David Place.

The former Advisory Board members gathered for one last time in their own time and presented David Place with a copy of the Advisory Board's Final Report and their 2009 Work Plan Evaluation.

David Place thanked the former Advisory Board members and praised them on their approach to dealing with matters that did, or had the potential to, impact on the people of our emergency services.

New Board members join SAFECOM Board

Two new members have been welcomed to the SAFECOM Board this past month. Susan Caracoussis is the Executive Officer of the SA SES Volunteers' Association and editor of the quarterly publication, Frontline. Susan started her career in banking as the first female in a lending role, then worked in senior public relations prior to moving to executive roles with the Australia Day Council of South Australia. Susan is honorary secretary of the SA Press Club and member of UniSA's School of Communication Advisory Committee, the Australian Emergency Management Volunteer Forum (National), numerous emergency sector review committees and Marketing Week organising committee.

Joe Szakacs is currently the Industrial Officer for the United Firefighters Union and is studying at Flinders University for a Bachelor of Law and Legal Practice and Bachelor of Arts. In 2003 Joe attended the University of Missouri and completed two trimesters in a Bachelor of Public Health. Joe has held many positions as Industrial officer and is a member of the Young Workers Legal Service Management Committee and Workers Rehabilitation and Compensation Advisory Committee.

Two new Deputies have also been appointed to the Board. Moira Deslandes is now the Deputy for Virginia Hickey and Barry Luke the Deputy for Joe Szakacs. David Ward will now fill the role of Deputy as Susan Caracoussis steps into the Board member role.

Comment divider line

Back to From the Board Contents Forward to Seamless Integration