Seamless Integration - staff and volunteers honoured

  Comment Banner Dec 2009

Sector staff and volunteers receive honours

Last month, 23 South Australians were honoured for going above and beyond the call of duty, often risking their own lives to help others. Out of this, 16 sector staff and volunteers were awarded with either an Emergency Services Medal or a Ministerial Commendation which is a fantastic achievement.

SAFECOM Chief Executive David Place commended the award recipients for their contributions to both the sector and the community.

"I would like to congratulate the recipients of the Emergency Services Medals and Ministerial Commendations - and in particular the sector staff and volunteers", he said.

"Their dedication to the emergency services and the passion for what they do is an inspiration to all and on behalf of the sector, I thank them."

Sector recipients of this year's Emergency Services Medal, which is awarded for distinguished and/or meritorious service of the highest order, were:

  • Peter Grant Edgcumbe (Millicent) - Retired Deputy Group Officer (CFS)
  • Greg Napier (Port Lincoln) - Captain, CFS Port Lincoln Brigade (CFS)
  • Paul Christopher Harrington (Adelaide) - Station Officer (MFS)
  • Trevor Arnold (Hallett Cove) - Commander, Special Operations Training and Safety (SES)
  • Gerry de Jong (Craigburn) - Operations Captain (South Australia Sea Rescue Squadron)
  • Paul Brown (Normanville) - Flotilla Leader (Wirrina Flotilla) (SASRS)
  • Stephen Marshall (Normanville) - Crew Member (Wirrina Flotilla) (SASRS).

Sector recipients of the Ministerial Commendations were:

  • Corey Robert Dunn (St Agnes) - State Training Officer (CFS)
  • Ian Nichols Davey (Kimba) - Captain Kimba Brigade (CFS)
  • Paul Keith Hutt (Wudinna) - Deputy Group Officer (CFS)
  • Michael John Morgan (Adelaide) - District Officer, Human Resources (MFS)
  • Philip Lindley Barnett (Mt Barker) - Station Officer (MFS)
  • Anna Migliaccio (Newton) - Administrative Services Officer (MFS)
  • David Littler (Morphett Vale) - Financial Consultant (SAFECOM)
  • Craig William Brassington (Wynn Vale) - Business Support Officer (SES)
  • Peter Larvin (Allenby Gardens) - Unit Manager (Western Adelaide) (SES).

    Minister and award recipient Hutt Minister and award recipient2 comment

Minister Wright with award recipients Paul Keith Hutt (CFS) and Anna Migliaccio (MFS)

Comment divider line


Back to Seamless Integration Contents Forward to Seamless Integration