Our People - Award Nominations

  Comment Banner July 2010

Have you nominated?


There are several awards open for nomination that you may wish to nominate yourself, or one of your colleagues for. These are the Laurie Lavelle Award, the Australian Fire and Emergency Services Medal (AFSM) Award and the Public Service Medal.

Laurie Lavelle Award

The Laurie Lavelle Award is open to staff and volunteers who have undertaken a role within an Australian Fire and Emergency Service Authorities Council (AFAC) member agency. The person must have contributed significantly to enhancing the knowledge, skills, operations, performance or public profile of the fire and emergency services in Australasia during the previous 12 months in one of the following areas:

  • emergency management
  • fire suppression
  • fire safety/fire prevention
  • land management
  • education and training
  • research and development
  • human resource management
  • finance and administration; or
  • community engagement.

The award winner will receive $1,000 cash and will be sponsored by the AFAC to attend their Annual Conference. This sponsorship will include conference fees and expenses to a maximum of $1,500.

Click here for more information or to download an application form. Entries must be submitted by Friday 6 August 2010.

Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM) and Emergency Service Medal (ESM)

Both of these medals are announced on Australia Day and the Queens Birthday each year. Nominations for the AFSM and ESM to be presented on Australia Day 2011 are now open.

The AFSM recognises distinguished service by members of the Australian fire services and is the top honour presented to fire service members. 

Contact Joanna Bond from the SAFECOM Volunteer Strategy and Support Unit for a copy of the application form for the AFSM. The cut-off for applications is Saturday 17 July 2010.

The ESM recognises distinguished service by members of emergency services across Australia, and people who are involved in emergency management, training or education. State emergency services and voluntary emergency organisations are eligible for the award.

For further details about the ESM and a copy of the nomination form please contact:

SES - Robyn Faraguna ph. 8463 4039

The cut off for ESM applications is Sunday 1 August 2010

Public Service Medal

All South Australian Public Sector employees are eligible for the Public Service Medal unless they are eligible for other comparable awards such as the Australian Police Medal and the Australian Fire Service Medal.

Nominations are based on 'outstanding public service' (not necessarily for long service or for service at a senior level) and consideration should be given to nominating employees who have made outstanding contribution regardless of age, length of service or classification level. 

Click here for further information and a copy of the nomination form. Nominations should be submitted no later than close of business Friday 16 July 2010.



Back to Our People Robert Pycroft Contents Forward to Building Partnerships