Community Resilience

  Comment Banner May 2010

2010 Australian Safer Communities Awards


Have you contributed to a safer community?

Do you know of, or have you been involved in an emergency management project that has made your community more resilient over the past 18 months? If so, the 2010 Australian Safer Communities Award may be the perfect way to promote and recognise the project.

The awards are sponsored by the Australian Government Attorney-General's Department and recognise innovative practice and achievement in making our communities safer, stronger and more resilient to emergencies. This includes the following themes:

  • Emergency risk assessment
  • Research
  • Education and training
  • Information and knowledge management
  • Prevention, preparedness, response and recovery
ASCA logo 2010 med

There are several award categories, and of particular relevance to our sector is the State Government category, Volunteer category and Youth category.

The closing date for entries is Friday, July 2 2010. The South Australian award recipients will be invited to attend a ceremony in Adelaide hosted by the Minister, Emergency Services. The State Winner will be invited to attend a national award ceremony in Parliament House, Canberra in December 2010.

Further information, contact details and the application form can be found on the SAFECOM website > Emergency Management > Australian Safer Communities Award.


Comment divider line
Back to Seamless Integration Contents Forward to Our People