Resilient Australia Awards

2020 Resilient Australia Awards Logo

Applications for the 2020 Resilient Australia Awards are closing soon.

The Resilient Australia Awards are managed by the Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience, and proudly sponsored by the Australian Government in conjunction with the states and territories.

The Resilient Australia Awards are celebrating 21 years of community resilience.


Every year, Australians face devastating losses caused by disasters and emergencies. The Resilient Australia Awards celebrate initiatives that help us better prepare, respond and recover together.


There are six award categories at the State and Territory level;

  • Community Award - open to communities, non-government organisations, tertiary colleges and universities.
  • Business Award - open to private sector and businesses.
  • Local Government Award – open to Local Government and Local Government Associations.
  • Government Award - open to Local and State Government.
  • School Award - open to all public and private pre-school, primary and secondary schools.
  • Photography Award (People’s choice) - open to individuals and copyright holders.

The RAA program supports the National Strategy for Disaster Resilience by promoting shared responsibility – all individuals and sectors have a role to play and can contribute. Projects submitted for an award should demonstrate a contribution towards priority outcomes of the National Strategy for Disaster Resilience.

  • Strengthening the resilience of a community or group
  • Embodying or promoting shared responsibility for resilience.
  • Innovation and long term thinking in terms of sustainability.

Jurisdictional winners will be considered for a national Resilient Australia Award.


Applications extended to Tuesday, 16 June 2020


Nominate a Project

Help us to celebrate resilience by submitting or nominating a project for a Resilient Australia award.

By completing our online nomination form, AIDR will reach out to the project team to encourage them to submit an application for the 2020 Resilient Australia Awards. 

Where a project team has limited capacity to complete the application process, AIDR will assist the project team to complete their application. 


Submissions will be accepted until 11.59pm AEST on 16th June 2020


For more information about the awards, visit


For guidelines, visit

Submission portal:


Photography Award (People’s choice)


Applicants with images supporting their submissions are also encouraged to enter the Resilient Australia Photography (People’s Choice) category. The winner will be selected by public vote. Details on how to vote will be available in June 2020.


Further Information

Phone or email the grants administration team: